Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Discussions about AccuTracking Starter Kit and phones.
Bobcat

Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:18 am

I am wondering, sort of, if Boost Mobile phones will work for Data access only in Canada.

According to the coverage map, the Direct connect and Data (web) services will work, but voice calls will not. According to the wierd people at boost, there is no coverage at all of any kind in Canada. Yet their own coverage map says otherwise.

They will not ship to Canada, will Accutracking.com Ship their starter kit to Canada?

If the boost mobile phones will roam onto Telus Mobility's Iden Network, does anyone know if the data rate is still 35 cents a day for Web access, or is there an international data rate at that point? One CSR said it doesnt matter where you are in north america for the data to work, and it costs the same.

This is what is Holding me back in purchasing a starter kit.

Thanks in advance.

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1814
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by ATSupport » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:17 am

No we don't ship outside US. The data plan and voice won't work in Canada. I've personally traveled there with an i425 and nothing worked.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

Bobcat

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:12 pm

Thank you, I just looked again on the Boost Mobile phone pages for the coverage map, thay have actually changed the map, it now only shows the US.

I am looking for a way to accomplish this tracking for assets. I have a client that needs alot of equipment to be tracked. The features of accutracking, and price is perfect. I do have a few development ideas that Iw ould like to share that may be possible, and would have an edge for your software, specificaly in the asset tracking part of the industry.

I would like to discuss these ideas, but if I can't actually get something set up, then its not going to be worth it.

My only solution is to use a PCS CDMA phone with the local carrier, where they will allow it to be put on a pre-paid plan, but I cant find any PCS phones with GPS that are unlocked on them.

P.s. Where in Canada did you travel? Did they have the Mike Network ( Telus) where you were?

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1814
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by ATSupport » Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:12 pm

It's Vancouver. Telus MIKE Canada does carry some Motorola i### phones compatible with AccuTracking. Just check with them.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

hutch109
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Contact:

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by hutch109 » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:28 am

Bobcat - there must be parts of Canada that work - as we have used them in BC I think - its been a while.

Give me your email details so we can talk.

Eric
Complete Covert i290, i335, i415, and i425 Motion Activated Track Packages On Sale Now!

Now You Can Get Several Weeks of Use Between Re-Charges!!


Call Toll Free At 1-888-292-6693 To Order! Or E-Mail AccuTracking@GPSBait.com For More Information

Covert User Of Super-Secret-Spy Stuff - Or So I Like To Think ;-)

BobcatGuy

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by BobcatGuy » Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:28 am

Yes I am ssure the Mike phones work, just as my black berry. The only problem is that telus will not allow you to activate a Smartphone or Mike phone on pre-paid. Then the cost is quite a bit higher then the $7.00 web browsing on prepaid, where you can only get a PCS phone as pre-paid. I have purchased a motorola phone from telus, will be here in a few days, I will test out the program on the phone, and post back. I bought a Moto KRZR K1M.. hope that will run the application.

Rob
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: Rochester NY

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Rob » Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:38 pm

Our i425 worked in Ontario without any problems...from Buffalo to Toronto !
Our proven, low cost motion activated 1296 and i425 solution with Accutracking.. will give you weeks of service on a single charge! (Battery Charger Included) Eliminates the daily recharging routine or the need to hard wire to auto electrical systems. Boost starter kits, lithium polymer batteries,and waterproof magnetic cases...For more information please call 716 830.7791 anytime!

Rob

Bobcat

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:24 pm

How long ago was this that you tried your phone in canada?

Did you use any data? did it cost more then the unlimited web?

I have purchased a Krzr K1m, oh this is fun to try and get an application on it to run.

I have the application on the phone, in the pre-install folder, when you go to the app folder its supposed to install, but there is an error that says that the java location.location is not allowed. Easy fix I guess to mod the phone to allow this, then the application will probably install, and run, and as for the "untrusted" app, there is a fix for that as well, to allow untrusted apps. The BIGGER problem I found was actually by accident, apparetnly there is a ##DEBUG code for the krzr, i tried it, it worked, and fooled around with the GPS session in the debug. Found out that there is great error on what location is reported, and what the actual location is ( I guess I know where I live :-) )


So aside from probably being able to get the accutracking app to run, there is the issue of accuracy. I was going to try and install telus' Navigatot, but since the phone is on pre-paid, they can't put it on my account. I was hoping this would unlock the GPS reciever easier, and probably use the AGPS for better accuracy.


So, now I dont knwo what to do, I dont mind paying for a Boos phone, but I wanted to make sure they worked in canada and that the unlimited web is still unlimited...

Rob
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: Rochester NY

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Rob » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:09 am

Once again..our i425 worked in Ontario..
Our proven, low cost motion activated 1296 and i425 solution with Accutracking.. will give you weeks of service on a single charge! (Battery Charger Included) Eliminates the daily recharging routine or the need to hard wire to auto electrical systems. Boost starter kits, lithium polymer batteries,and waterproof magnetic cases...For more information please call 716 830.7791 anytime!

Rob

Bobcat

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:28 am

Worlds best forum poster here... Hey... I think if you re-read my last post, you will see there was a couple of specific questions, in the question it acknolwedges that your phone worked, ie

How long ago was this that you tried your phone in canada?

Did you use any data? did it cost more then the unlimited web?

and did voice work?

Bobcat

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:23 am

I have an update about the KRZR K1M..

I was using the DEBUG mode for the krzr to get the GPS co-ordinates, which were always in 2d fix type. Seems as if the phone is left on longer, it will get 3d fix type, ehich is more accurate, still drifts quite a bit, but I am in my house when testing this.

So I will pursue this search of getting this app to work on this phone, and will probably start a new thread about it if I can get it to work, unless there is anyone that wants to help? Seems simple enough, allow java location to untrusted apps, and it should work all good, I just dont know where that is yet. I'll get it... might take some time, but where there is a will there is a way.

drshoteri

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by drshoteri » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:33 pm

my friend has boost mobile and he use it in Canada for months now and when he paid the 450 for the following months does not work and there appear a messgae service restericted.
is there any way that he can take this resterction?
thannks

Bobcat

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by Bobcat » Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:01 am

IS he trying to use Voice, Walkie Talkie, or Web?

From my understanding voice will not work in canada, Web will and Walkie talkie will too, but on Boosts web site, there is no mention of WEB usage in canada or if it incurs other charges, whereas walkie talkie does...

I would like a boost mobile phone but this is holding me back becuase there is no one that is saying that TODAY there is functionality of web services on the boost phone, I understand it USED to work for some people, but what about now..

If Telus just let me activate a Mike phone on prepaid, I would have no problems Or even one of the 3 black berry's I have sitting on my desk!

blah.blah

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by blah.blah » Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:49 pm

there was boost for months in canada/free longdistance worldwide, now the service is restricted because the feds are involved. they were just testing the waves in canada as a pilot. but boost is hitting canada come jan 2010. just waiting on final approval in canada. 2 new companies already passed in toronto, hate rogers/fido/bell....rip off companies. hopefully now it would be more competetive finally. check public mobile for rates.

hzlee

Re: Boost Mobile Coverage in Canada?

Post by hzlee » Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:59 pm

On the map it shows coverage in Canada, but not Ontario :( Maybe it will happen one day.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests