Page 1 of 1

google maps timeout with large number of pins [FIXED]

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:59 pm
by madrabbitt
Guys, any way you can change the default number of pins shown on the google map's "trip overview map"

One of my subscriber unit's been on the road for several days, and she has an enormous amount of pins, since her client is updating every 180 seconds.

If i try to load her client page, it shows a blank grey square in place of the google overview map. I have to manually set it to only show the last hour or 30 minutes in order for the map to load.

I've even left it sitting for an hour waiting for it to load, and nothing, it keeps timing out.

Is there any way to make it default to say the last 10, 20 or 25 pins instead of it trying to load the last... however many it is.

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:10 pm
by ATSupport
FYI, the blank page you saw was probably not caused by number of points. Other clients is displaying 100 points with no problem (and we have set the point limit to 100). If you check your browser's Javascript Console, you would see the error

"Error: this.bitmapOrigo[c] has no properties
Source File: http://maps.google.com/mapfiles/maps.10.js
Line: 483"

It appears to be related to the Lat/Lon of the map that is being displayed. And the js file above is likely in question.

Still investigating...

Posted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:46 pm
by madrabbitt
I'll check that now...

Being able to see 100 pins would be niiiice :)

edit: you are correct...
And when i clicked "more info" on the error, it pointed to the error being in this line:

;O.prototype.getBitmapCoordinate=function(a,b,c,d){if(!d){d=new
q(0,0)}d.x=Math.floor(this.bitmapOrigo[c].x+b*this.pixelsPerLonDegree[c]);
vare=Math.sin(Ka(a));if(e>0.9999){e=0.9999}if(e<-0.9999){e=-0.9999}d.y
=Math.floor(this.bitmapOrigo[c].y+0.5*Math.log((1+e)/(1-e))*-
this.pixelsPerLonRadian[c]);return d}

Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:26 am
by ATSupport
Fixed now. That error was caused by the wrong init zoom level settings for large region trips.

Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:53 am
by madrabbitt
yup, i see it fixed, thanks so much. the switch to google maps was great timing.