Page 1 of 1

8830 logging when not moving [FIXED]

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:41 pm
by jgroom
I am using a Blackberry 8830 and have smart send enabled but it appears that the device continues to tranmit logs even when the device is setting on the table at night and not moving. Is there something else I need to do?
Thanks

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:28 pm
by ATSupport
The "smart sending" decides whether the phone is moving by comparing its current position with history data. If the difference is greater than a certain threshold, it'll treat it as moving. When the phone is physically staying at one place, the actually GPS data would still "jump" around due to signal margin of errors. How much do you see the data drifting? That may be why you see smart sending not working.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:00 pm
by jgroom
I would say by looking at my information on the map that I appear to be moving 50 or 60 ft but the Blackberry is sitting on the table.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:06 pm
by jgroom
Is there a way that the accuracy could be one of the options in the setup on the device. That way those of us using mainly for vehicle tracking could set it at say 100ft and if someone wanted it more accuate they could set it lower. In our case if I am within 100 ft of someone I should be able to see or find them.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:14 pm
by ATSupport
Would the geofence alert help in your case? Just set the fence radius to be 500ft.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:21 am
by jgroom
I guess I am more concerned with battery usage then I am with my location. I am not sure how it all works but I was assuming that if it was not transmitting my location when it was sitting on my counter or I am in my office it would save battery but mayber not.
Thanks for your help
Joel

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:25 pm
by hutch109
Actually the "transmit" time does not change the battery life that much. iDEN holds on to the tower, and sends communications back and forth quite a bit with registration data. So changing from 1 min, to 5 min, to 30 minutes - may only get an extra hour - if that - over the course of the day.

Eric

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:21 pm
by jgroom
OK, so just for my clarification setting the refresh rate to a longer period (1 min to 3 min) does not extend the battery life? I was of the impression if I changed that to a longer period I would extend my battery because the GPS would not be activating as often.
Thanks
Joel

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:32 pm
by hutch109
Yes, and no ;-)

For the most part your correct - you will not get a noticable change in battery life.

If you were to go to 30 minutes, from say 5 minutes. You might only get an extra hour - so for the most part - the phone being on, and staying connected with the tower will use the battery about the same.

If you keep the GPS hot, and keep hammering the chip - it will use it much faster.

But the change in refresh rate won't double your time. Does that make sense?

Eric

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:04 pm
by jgroom
If I understand correctly it is not actually the logging of the information as much as the GPS obtaining the coordinates that it is going to send. If that is the case when I increase the Refresh intervals does that mean the GPS is only going to come on based on the setting I enter or is continously on?
Thanks for your patience as I try to understand.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:09 pm
by ATSupport
GPS is not "continuously" on unless "hotgps" is enabled. Eric's point is that there are other activities consumes a great deal of power as well.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:15 pm
by Guest
I recently installed this on an 8800 and am experiencing the same problem. I will get updates when the latitude and longitude vary as little as .0003. My concern is not so much battery life but bandwidth usage since I pay per Mb used. I have opened a trouble ticket for this issue.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving

Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:02 pm
by ATSupport
This is fixed in the new v3.2.1. Please reinstall the latest version.

Re: 8830 logging when not moving [FIXED]

Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:43 pm
by ATSupport
The fix in v3.2.1 is not complete. It's now been fixed in v3.2.2. I apologize for the delay and thank you for your patience! :)