"Tower Fix" - Extended Wait / Send Time

Report new bugs or search known ones.
Post Reply
hutch109
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Contact:

"Tower Fix" - Extended Wait / Send Time

Post by hutch109 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:32 am

Unit "A" is in a challanged GPS signal location, but its CELL tower signal is FULL scale - tower fix is ENABLED on the phone - as I need to know its "alive" - updates are supposed to occur every 1 minute in standard mode. It is not sending me data for a tower fix except once every 9-10 minutes.

2007-12-05 00:31:19 42.9755, -85.79107
2007-12-05 00:22:31 42.9755, -85.79107
2007-12-05 00:13:45 42.9755, -85.79107

I understand it wants to "try" and get a fix - but if it can not get one in a reasonable time - it should move on - but still send a tower fix - more than every 10 minutes. It should not wait more than 2 minutes to get a fix. If not fix, send tower data and start over.

Presence alert is sometimes just as good info to troubleshoot.

Thanks

Eric
Complete Covert i290, i335, i415, and i425 Motion Activated Track Packages On Sale Now!

Now You Can Get Several Weeks of Use Between Re-Charges!!


Call Toll Free At 1-888-292-6693 To Order! Or E-Mail AccuTracking@GPSBait.com For More Information

Covert User Of Super-Secret-Spy Stuff - Or So I Like To Think ;-)

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:38 am

Hm... tower fix takes longer because it involves the communication to the tower. Cell phones (not in AccuTracking software) "ping" their tower(s) at certain interval. In your case, the phone seems to talk to the tower about every 10 minutes. Can you let me know the status text displayed on the phone screen when it's trying tower fix?
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

hutch109
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Contact:

Post by hutch109 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:15 pm

Status keeps saying "trying to get fix" - the tower data is just another call-to command that is available in the API. Technically the phone knows the tower info before anything else - as it has to talk to it for normal cell phone use.

It does not take 9 minutes to get that info - and its part of the adjustable "wait time". Too bad for us - as our application of the device requrires something more than 9 minutes - even every 2 min would be better. But I am pretty sure if it "fails to fix" on GPS, you can send the other data.

Please let me know. Thanks!!

Eric
Complete Covert i290, i335, i415, and i425 Motion Activated Track Packages On Sale Now!

Now You Can Get Several Weeks of Use Between Re-Charges!!


Call Toll Free At 1-888-292-6693 To Order! Or E-Mail AccuTracking@GPSBait.com For More Information

Covert User Of Super-Secret-Spy Stuff - Or So I Like To Think ;-)

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:26 pm

I'll check and get back to you. Hopefully it's like what you said a quick one call thing.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

hutch109
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Contact:

Post by hutch109 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:29 pm

Perfect; Thanks!

E
Complete Covert i290, i335, i415, and i425 Motion Activated Track Packages On Sale Now!

Now You Can Get Several Weeks of Use Between Re-Charges!!


Call Toll Free At 1-888-292-6693 To Order! Or E-Mail AccuTracking@GPSBait.com For More Information

Covert User Of Super-Secret-Spy Stuff - Or So I Like To Think ;-)

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:28 pm

I checked and yes you are right the tower info is just a quick call. There is no other deliberate delays in the program. Right after you see ""Trying tower fix..." you should see either "Cell tower fixed" or "No tower info" in a few seconds. Then it gets to next fixing cycle. Please watch the screen closely and see if you get either of the messages?

Another possible thing: the tower info is acquired by cannot be sent out. Any other messages like "Cant connect"?
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

hutch109
Senior Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI 49534
Contact:

Post by hutch109 » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:05 am

I do not see any other messages... Sometimes there is a "flash" of a word but I can not see it - as its like .25 seconds long.

All I see is a 9 minute wait before each tower fix - and its consistant.

Not sure the reason for the delay - and I know the tower data is there, and is fixing properly. I have one of my "test units" that is set for ONLY tower fixes by the API, and we can hammer a new fix every few seconds with the tower data.

Do you have some code that tries for X minutes for GPS fix, and then send tower out if it does not fix?

E
Complete Covert i290, i335, i415, and i425 Motion Activated Track Packages On Sale Now!

Now You Can Get Several Weeks of Use Between Re-Charges!!


Call Toll Free At 1-888-292-6693 To Order! Or E-Mail AccuTracking@GPSBait.com For More Information

Covert User Of Super-Secret-Spy Stuff - Or So I Like To Think ;-)

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:11 am

Yes each GPS fix timeout is 30 seconds, and after that it turns to tower. We'll test the tower fix.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

Post Reply