Cell tower GPS if no fix

Share & discuss feature suggestions.
Post Reply
deft
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:38 am
Location: Seattle

Cell tower GPS if no fix

Post by deft » Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:46 am

I go through places where GPS fixes are impossible, but cell signals are strong, all the time. I noticed that on non-GPS phones like the i205 they seem to at least the GPS lat/long of the nearest cell tower, and use it for E911, etc.

So, if Accutracking can't get a GPS fix, why not have the option of giving the cell tower lat/long. instead? It would help me out a lot, because accuracy even within a few miles is fine but the timeliness of the information is extremely important (over 15 minutes old info is completely useless).

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1842
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:34 am

AccuTracking uses AGPS with the help from the cell tower when it's not able to obtain a fix solely from the chipset. Related explanation of AGPS: viewtopic.php?t=458
viewtopic.php?t=60

The traditional 100% cell tower triangulation is only available to carriers and has an up to 3 miles error.
Last edited by ATSupport on Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

Skibum
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 5:52 pm
Location: Canton, Ct
Contact:

Post by Skibum » Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:10 pm

Try hotgps in your options and uncheck smart send. :wink:
I can't be tracked anymore... :(

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1842
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Wed May 17, 2006 8:44 am

We have just released v3.1, which reports the cell tower location when GPS fix is not available. It's not triangulation but the tower location would give you the rough area the phone resides.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

Post Reply