google sattelite maps

Share & discuss feature suggestions.
Post Reply
mouser

google sattelite maps

Post by mouser » Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:53 pm

any chance of linking the location using the google sat maps http://maps.google.com/maps?spn=77.5195 ... &t=k&hl=en which have coverage in Canada as well?

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1842
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Post by ATSupport » Thu Apr 07, 2005 4:52 pm

Google maps are nice. Two concerns before linking to them:

1. Their terms of use. I haven't studied in details. Are you aware of any red flags in terms?

2. Technically, there's no way to show a position mark on the map. So with the link your provide, it only shows the neighborhood around the specified Lat/Lon but doesn't mark the point. Secondly, no way to specify the map scale. Your example would show the whole Canada. In this sense, inferior to the satellite maps we currently link to. And practically not usable.
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

mrberrie-4

Satellite maps we currently link to??

Post by mrberrie-4 » Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:13 pm

ATSupport wrote: inferior to the satellite maps we currently link to.
Huh?? More details please. Thanks! Mrberrie.....

ATSupport
AccuTracking Staff
Posts: 1842
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Satellite maps we currently link to??

Post by ATSupport » Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:10 pm

mrberrie-4 wrote:
ATSupport wrote: inferior to the satellite maps we currently link to.
Huh?? More details please. Thanks! Mrberrie.....
Don't get me wrong, I said "in this sense" before that (in the sense of specifying map scale and lat/lon in the URL).
AccuTracking Support
support(at)accutracking.com

jgarland79
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:26 pm
Contact:

Google maps are EASY!

Post by jgarland79 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:34 pm

I put this together with my accutracking CSV data and a mysql database.

https://ares.jasongarland.com/~jgarland/map.html
https://ares.jasongarland.com/~jgarland/data.cgi
Google maps will pull XML data from a CGI script no problem.

I've also got this one for Google Earth:

http://insecure.jasongarland.com/~jgarland/earth.cgi

Under google earth you can click "Add, Network Link" and paste in that URL. You can even set it to refresh every minute to see my latest location. You can click "Play Tour" and it will playback my route. YEY XML!

:D

Post Reply